Vegan Cookie Cake: Looks Ugly, Tastes Pretty

Special Holiday Recipe Review: Today was my boyfriend’s birthday!๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽŠ

A while back, I asked him what he wanted me to bake him (and I left out the for your birthday part…)  he said a cookie cake!๐Ÿช So, I decided to surprise him with a cookie cake for his birthday!

Knowing he loves cookies๐Ÿช that are moist and chewy in the middle,  I searched around and found a recipe that looked like a winner!๐ŸŽ‰ ๐Ÿ‘

๐ŸŒŸI found this vegan, gluten-free Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake from the cooking blog, Guy Gone Vegan! โœจ

The dough after chilling overnight๐ŸŒŒ: 

โœ‹Note: I altered the recipe in 3โƒฃ ways!โœจ

1โƒฃ~Instead of All Purpose Flour, I used Almond Meal (which is my new favorite gluten-free flour๐ŸŒŸ!)

  • ๐Ÿ‘Almond meal can be store bought or simply made from putting raw almonds in a food processor, magic bullet, or pulsing on a blender.
  • ๐ŸŒŸAlmond Meal gives anything an incredible deep, rich, and nutty flavor.
  • Use it 1โƒฃ to 1โƒฃ to replace any flour with any recipe, but you may have to reduce any liquids.
  • ๐Ÿ‘ŒHOWEVER, Almond Meal  will make the color deeper and darker brown instead of the light golden brown we all love our cookies ๐Ÿช(and cookie cakes to be.)
  • So you decide what is the right flour for you.๐Ÿ’๐Ÿป

Look at that pretty flour~โœจ

2โƒฃ~ I used coconut palm sugar instead of granulated sugar.๐Ÿฌ 

  • Coconut palm sugar is my favoriteโœจ sugar to use in baking!
  • Use 1โƒฃto1โƒฃ when replacing other sugars.
  • It has a low glysemic index๐Ÿ‘, it ACTUALLY contains trace vitamins and minerals*, and has only 1โƒฃ5โƒฃ calories!

*It contains zinc, magnesium, potassium and copper

  • ๐Ÿ˜ป Additionally, it has a divine, rich carmelly and molassesy taste. ๐Ÿ‘
  • HOWEVER, it also tends to darken the color, so for a less healthy but more picturesque cookie cake๐Ÿช keep the flours and sugars the same.๐Ÿ™
  • But best of all…

I’m  Cats love it too! ๐Ÿ˜ธ

3โƒฃ~ The recipe actually forgot to say when to put in molasses (which is on the list of ingredients), so in turn I forgot to add it. Fortunately, my coconut palm sugar still gave the cookie cake a nice, subtle, molassesy taste. ๐Ÿ‘Œ

โ€ผ๏ธAlso, when using Almond Meal–you want to reduce the liquids in your recipe. ๐ŸŒŸโญ๏ธ So if using almond meal? Forgo the molasses and use coconut palm sugar.โ˜‘๏ธ

 Pressed into a 9โƒฃ inch cake pan and ready to be baked!

IMPORTANT TIP: The recipe says that after you bake it, to bump it up from 3โƒฃ5โƒฃ0โƒฃ to 4โƒฃ2โƒฃ5โƒฃ and leave it in for a couple minutes.  DO THIS!  Otherwise you will get the baking blues! ๐Ÿ˜จ I didn’t do this initially, and my cake was liquidy and bubbling until I did.

Note: when I took the cake out it was still bubbling.  If yours looks like the video when it comes out of the oven : DON’T PANIC!๐Ÿ˜ฑ Let it sit and it will settle. So long as the fork๐Ÿด comes out clean you’re golden!๐Ÿ’›

The Skinny on the Icing!

  • ๐ŸฐLet the cake cool for a long time before icing it.!
  • Use allnatural non hydrogenated vegetable  shortening, unless you want melty mess like my cake!๐Ÿ‘‡(I didn’t use any shortening)
  • Instead of Oreos (which still contain trans fats, use NewmanO’s!)
  • I had to use about a 1/2 cup more powdered sugar, than it says, to taste perfectly sweet~

 TA DA! ๐ŸŽ‰ The vegan (and gluten-free) cookie cake! ๐Ÿช Not pretty to look at, but it tasty to eat.

  • My boyfriend loved๐Ÿ’• it! He said it didn’t taste healthy (even though it was~) & he thought it was very yummy.
  • Also, being a sweetie (and the best boyfriend ever) he told me he thought it was a beautiful cake~โค๏ธ

Until next time, remember: eat your veggies, and have your (cookie๐Ÿช) cake too!โœจ

One thought on “Vegan Cookie Cake: Looks Ugly, Tastes Pretty

Leave a Reply

