Recipe Review: Vegan Baked Chai Donuts

Hey there! Thanks✨ for visiting Happy Healthy Noms for this week’s Review Thursday.🌟

Today I stumbled upon a vegan recipe for Baked Chai Donuts from the cooking bloghandful of raspberries.

They sounded amazing, and they WERE.  The texture was perfect. If I didn’t tell the person eating it what it was, they would have thought it was an unhealthy cake donut! (But the secret: they are healthier!)

Not to mention the flavor is phenomenal. The chai spices in the donut really stand out, and the cinnasugar glaze adds just the right amount of sweetness.

☑️Calories: 1⃣6⃣0⃣

Recipe rating: 💛💛💛💛💛

What’s in it?  💫Happy Healthy Hint: I highly recommend grinding whole cardamom and nutmeg. I ground the cardamom in a small coffee grinder, and shaved the nutmeg with a micro plane. (Doing this makes the donut’s flavor and aroma DIVINE.)🌟

📝I made 3⃣ changes to the original recipe:

1⃣~ Instead of all-purpose flour, I ground up Wheat Pastry Berries into Whole Wheat Pastry Flour using my Vitamix Grains attachment *

*Can’t make your own flour? Use store bought Whole Wheat Pastry Flour.

2⃣~ Surprise, surprise✨ I replaced the sugar🍬, but this time with Truvia Baking Blend**!

**This was my first time using Truvia Baking Blend and I was very happy with it! It added the perfect amount of sweetness and didn’t have a weird taste.

✏️NOTE: replacing sugar with Truvia has a unique ratio–see below⬇️.

Ratio for using Truvia
3⃣~ I replaced soy milk🚫 because it’s on my out list. It is considered to be more processed than other milks like almond milk. I used Silk Unsweetened Almond Milk***.

***I love this almond milk because not only is it only 3⃣0⃣ calories in a cup, but it doesn’t contain carageenan❌ (an iffy ingredient that can cause inflammation💔 which can lead to heart disease and cancer. It’s found in many foods including dairy-free milks–so read your ingredients!)

4⃣~ The recipe had 2⃣ toppings for the donuts, but I made up a “Cinnasugar Glaze” that combined them together.

⭐️Cinnasugar Glaze:💛

  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 2-3 Tbsp Silk Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon

Ready to go into the oven~✨
☑️You can get my Wilson donut baking pan for a great price at Bed Bath and Beyond.

👍The baking time and temp was perfect.

Fresh from the oven~💛 ready to be flipped onto the cooling rack.
Look at that glazed donut goodness~💛
🌟NOTE: The recipe said it would make 1⃣2⃣ donuts, but it only made 6⃣. So, double the recipe (you’ll want 1⃣2⃣–heck you’ll want 2⃣4⃣!😻

Have a product, recipe, or cookbook that you want me to review? Comment below with the link, or e-mail me at: happyhealthynoms@gmail.com

Until next time, remember: have your veggies🍅 and eat your donuts too!

Leave a Reply

